Skip to content

Reviews of CPE Courses

Reviews on our CPE courses

Accounting and Audit CPE Course Reviews

Brazen Employee Theft

  • Excellent case studies with analysis describing the conditions in companies that permitted significant fraud to occur.
    Remember- Trust is not an internal control. This sums it up perfectly. – 5 Stars

Crossing the Line: Cases in Financial Statement Fraud and Audit Deception

  • Very interesting examples of their life. I could not even imagine that public companies are capable of this.
  • Very interesting. I do wish that they had discussed how these frauds were discovered, but otherwise it was very informative and interesting.
  • Dramatic fraud cases-hard to believe these. But shows how multiple parties can be duped by deceptive players. 
  • Interesting cases about two relatively obvious fraud examples. – 5 Stars – 7/23
  • New case study i hadn’t heard about – very interesting. Well laid out 5 Stars 3/24

Accounting Fraud

  • Interesting case studies on fraud. Understanding these studies, the motivations to commit fraud, and the proper controls to reduce the risk can help to both identify fraud and reduce fraud risk.
  • Very interesting and informative.
  • Very high quality writing! fascinating case studies
  • I like how they gave application to both CPAs in industry as well as public accounting. Great examples of how fraud can be conducted and not be detected and how strong internal controls could have prevented the frauds.
  • Interesting and different case studies highlighting how fraud can be perpetrated n many ways.
  • Great examples. Fraud and the importance of good and effective internal controls. Great course!- 5 Stars
  • An interesting case study, hadn’t heard of this one before  5 Stars 3/24
  • interesting contemporary fraud cases that illustrate lack of controls and in effecting board structures. – 5 Stars – 7/14/23

Koss Corporation – A Case Study in Fraud 

  • The content was good and I found that using a real case study is a good way to teach concepts. This was quite interesting to explain how the dimensions of the fraud triangle were all present and all contributed to this fraud.
  • Thank you very much. I really appreciate it. Great course. Very informative. Good job. – 5 stars
  • An excellent breakdown of a fraud in a case study format – 5 stars

Accounts Receivable Best Practices for Small to Medium Sized Commercial Entities

  • Very useful information. practical applications for everyday use 
  • Very informative course. I appreciated the breakdown of the various topics. Great refresher – 5 stars
  • this is a good course for those who need a thorough understanding of the receivables department and all the processes and best practices that should be in place to properly manage them. -5 Stars (4/24)

Excel CPE Course Reviews

Excel Time Value of Money Functions for CPAs

  • I’ve often played around with the financial formulas in Excel, but found them slightly confusing. This course puts a lot of knowledge in a concise format that was easy to understand, and, the examples given made it easy to verify how it actually worked with real numbers.
  • This was an excellent course, explains variety of formulas that can easily be done n Excel

Fraud Audit Techniques using Excel

  • Concise descriptions with good hands-on examples made this course interesting and informative.
  • An excellent review of both Excel data filter functions and formulas as well as introducing fraud red flags that may be present in the data.. and using trhese functions to detect these red flags in Excel data sets. 5 Stars
  • I learned a couple of nifty tricks for excel Very good course – 5 stars
  • Excellent course on powerful techniques to hunt down anomalies, duplicates and data that needs further investigation. – 5 stars
  • This was a great course for some standard but helpful  auditing formulas. The formulas taught in this course area great starting point for additional investigation -5 Stars 4/28/23
  • I love this course. Gave me a lot of tips on how to do my day-to-day activities using Excel. I am not in Audit but I can definitely use the various Excel tools to streamline certain processes in my daily work activities.  5 Stars (4/24)

Excel Chart Basics

  • Good overview of chart making. I had no experience and this was very helpful.
  • There were several good hints and tips included with this program. I have built several graphs and I still learned a few tips and tricks.
  • Course is well developed and put together. Great information, I learned a lot.
  • Really interesting information and new graphing /charting tools to use. Good course.

Creating Effective Charts

  • Absolutely fabulous, detailed course, helps you actually enjoy getting in the weeks with Excel charts! – 5 stars
  • Great course. I really enjoyed it. Very informative. – 5 Stars

Create Dynamic and Interactive Charts

  • Simple language and good examples to guide the practice. I like this course. learned several things!
  • I liked this class. Easy to follow along and informative.  5 Stars 3/24

Arrays: A Powerful Excel Tool

  • This course contained some excellent Excel formulas and solution ideas.
  • Really handy overview of array tools and formulas. Definitely need to keep this in my back pocket. – 5stars

Dynamic Array Formulas and Other New Excel Functions (2022)

  • There are some really cool things you can do with arrays that I was not aware of. this training was great and I plan to implement some of what I learned in the near future – 5 stars
  • This is a great course with good instructions on new excel formulas – 5 stars
  • Great background on the types of functions – didn’t know those existed 5 Stars 3/24
  • Thorough review of dynamic array formulas and other new excel functions. – 5 Stars 

Power Query- Get and Transform Data (2022)

  • I have some basic understanding of the Power Query process in Excel, but I learned several new items in this. – 5 stars
  • Extremely helpful and now I can handle power query issues as I suffered for this more than 5 years. – 5 stars – 7/18/23
  • Best Powe BI course! Easy to follow and understand. Thank you! 4 Stars 2/24

Use Pivot Tables to Organize, Summarize and Analyze Data

  • Incredible course. meticulous documentation makes the learning enjoyable and easy to immediately put to use. – 5 stars
  • I recommend this comprehensive course on pivot tables. Don’t learn on YouTube, learn here instead. -4 Stars 4/15/23
  • Good overview of how to use pivot tables, which are one of the simplest, yet most effective, tools in Excel. – 4 Stars 6/28/23

Drive Your Dashboard with Excel

  • I learned about some really useful Excel features that I didn’t know about – slicers, other forms of conditional formatting and dynamic charts. – 5 Stars
  • Good course with relevant info and examples. Found that it was easy to follow and templates provided will be good starts for future dashboards. – 5 stars
  • So many great tips and instructions. Can’t wait to apply them.
  • Excellent class. the supporting PDF and excel templates will provide immense value in generating dashboards. – 5 stars
  • Awesome content, this really helped me understand both excel and dashboarding! – 5 Stars -2/6/23
  • Excellent 🙂 Well structured and easy to study text based course. very useful supporting materials. Interesting info – 5 Stars -4/12/23
  • Great course for a beginner dashboard user! I found the material easy to follow and the example files were great – 5 Stars – 4/28/23
  • This was an outstanding class and I am grateful I read through the document. This will help me with upcoming projects – 5 stars – 4/28/23 
    As someone who has built countless dashboards, this is both a great foundational course for beginners as well as a good refresher for advanced users. – 5 Stars – 6/24/23
  • Everything you need to know to create a dynamic dashboard with excel – 5 stars – 7/18/23
  • Step by step instructions were helpful. I wished the focus was more on best practices rather than covering basic functions as it did for part of the book. 5 Stars 4/24
  • This is a very technical course and makes the assumptions that the user is at least at an intermediate level of excel knowledge. However, it explains step by step what needs to be done with all the various options in creating dashboards. Highly recommend. 5 Stars 3/24

Other CPE Course Reviews

Accounting for Digital Assets in Estate Planning

  • So much important and essential information that most people aren’t aware of. We all have digital assets- financial and social, but very few of us have provided for access to them after we die. It’s important that we pass this knowledge onto clients – 5 Stars.
  • Reviews the current state of play in accounting for digital assets in estate planning. – 5 stars- 7/18/23

Optimizing Search Rresults with Google

  • learn to optimize google search results in ways you may not currently regularly use. – 5 stars – 7/15/23

 

Ethics CPE Course Reviews

Ethics for CPAs in Business ( text based course and a video based course)

  • The [author] provided good material, including examples to illustrate.
  • This ethics course provides information on how to handle certain situations. I think it is well worth the time.
  • This was a comprehensive course that covered many facts of ethics for the CPA working in business.
  • This is a great course. I would recommend this to any CPA working their CPE credits. – 5 stars
  • Very well structured and informative. Information was summarized well using great examples. -4 stars
  • this course is effective and has good real-world examples which makes it interesting and relatable. – 5 stars
  • Great course, clear and concise, would recommend others to take this course – 5 stars 
  • The case studies helped to bring the standards into the real world. The slides provided with the class contain a lot of detail, they are a good reference. (Video) 4 Stars -7/23
  • This course had very good examples and case studies. Overall good overview and thought provoking. 5 Stars 2/24

General Ethics for CPAs

  • A great, to the point, course with appropriate coverage of all essential topics. 3 Stars (4/24)

Ethics and Professional Conduct for Texas CPAs

  • This was much more engaging than other Ethics courses I’ve taken over the years. I liked the emphasis on case studies and changes in the Ethics rules.
  • I loved being able to read, rather than listen to, the course. Tons of case studies were included, and I always enjoy looking into them. Highly recommend this course!
  • Very informative course, efficient to complete, useful material.
  • Great case examples and I liked how the important points were summarized at the end of each section. It helped boil down the info into pieces that were easier to remember.
  • Course material is easy to navigate and contains relevant examples which help solidify our professional requirements. – 5 stars
  • good course covering the basics needed for Texas licensing, and not intentionally obtuse like some ethics courses can be with regards to content matching the questions. – 5 stars
  • Awesome! Very Great and Informative! Very Thorough and Helped Me Understand The Content! – 5 Stars 2/24

Ethics and Professional Conduct for California CPAs

  • The material is very helpful. I think all CPAs or non-CPAs would benefit from the course. It’s importance to understand the difference between moral and professional ethics. The course material explains it in details and how to differentiate it by providing examples. Also, it’s written in simple and non-technical language where everyone can learn.
  • Course materials cover a lot of areas and are very practical. It could be even better if the course is in a video format. I will save the course materials and use them as refer or reference in the future.
  • The reading was good prep for the test. I was surprised at the relevance of the reading and the author’s fresh take on ethic vs morals.  5 Stars
  • This course was easy to read and understand, so well written with easy to follow examples. – 5 stars
  • The reading material was well put together and included easy-to-follow examples – 5 Stars 4/14/23
  • “Good course, easy to follow and good material to keep handy.” 4 Stars 7/19/23
  • Good guide on the ethics and professional conduct for California CPA. I liked the format and case study examples. 4 Stars 1/24

Professional Ethics for Colorado CPAs

  • This course was complete and easy to understand. There were good examples of different situations to help you apply the concepts 
  • Self study was easy to read and entertaining enough to keep me from being bored. – 5 Stars -6/28/23

Ethical Conduct for Florida CPAs

  • Very thorough course. Went in depth and gave good case studies. Would take again. – 4 Stars

Professional Ethics for Illinois CPAs

  • Very thorough information. Glad I took this course.
  • Very, very comprehensive material. Highly recommend. – 5 Stars – 7/23

Professional Ethics for New York CPAs

  • Great review course for ethics requirements in NY. The course is simple and easy to follow.
  • The program was well laid out and easy to follow. The included case studies help to visual the concepts discussed and inject some life into the subject.
  • I enjoyed the course and thought it was very informative. Thanks!
  • The course was easy to read and follow. The exam questions were straightforward. – 5 stars
  • I thought there was a solid overview of moral vs ethics with examples of real life scenarios and then liked that it was specific to NY CPAs across audit and tax functions – 5 Stars
  • This course was very helpful and provided a good refresher. I highly recommend this course to other CPAs! – 5 Stars  
  • Good comprehensive review, including very relevant case studies. – 5 Stars -7/23

North Carolina Professional Ethics

  • Appreciated this ethics course for NC. I especially liked the scenarios within the course and the reasoning behind any violations or decisions made. It allowed the principles to be applied in practical ways. – 5 Stars

Ohio Professional Ethics

  • Good overview and refresher. Liked the use of case studies. – 4 stars
  • While reading through that much Ohio and AICPA code was a little dry, it was good coverage of professional ethics and gave good examples to consider. 4 Stars
  • This course contained straight forward materials. The exam fairly represented materials. 5 Stars 2/24

Virginia Ethics for CPAs in Business 2024

  • Great class to meet state-required ethics class. Information presented was easy to understand with good examples. 5 Stars 2/24

Ethics and Professional Conduct for Washington CPAS 

  • Excellent course. The materials were easy to follow. Great questions.
  • it was great material for me to refresh my understanding of subject matter – 4 Stars (4/24)
  • The course was well-organized and easy to follow. If you are looking for a course to help you meet the requirements of the Ethics portion of the CPA CPE, I would highly recommend it. 5 Stars 2/24

Professional Ethics for Wyoming  CPAs

  • The best ethics course I’ve taken to date. I liked all the examples given to explain situations