Pivot Table – Source Data
When you close an Excel file, containing a pivot table, Excel can save the source data in the file or clear it from memory. If you go to Options>Pivot Table Options you will see that Excel by default saves the source data with the file.
The advantage of this is that the file will open a little quicker and you do not need to refresh the pivot table. The disadvantage is that if you copy the sheet containing the pivot table and email that sheet to someone then they have access to all the source data! Another disadvantage is that your file is larger.If you uncheck the Save source data with file, your file will be smaller, but will take a little longer to open as Excel needs to rebuild the pivot cache of data. If you do uncheck the box, it is recommended that you check the Refresh data when opening the file. Microsoft keeps moving this option icon around. if you can’t find the Option icon on the ribbon, try right-clicking in the pivot table itself. Check out our Excel CPE course on Pivot Tables.